Review: Moises – Circular EP [SLPL005]

Berlin based label Sleepless Musik has been gently trickling vinyl-only releases since its launch back in 2016. Through originals and remixes, a handful of artists have already appeared on its sleeves, despite having only released four records to date. Whilst different flavours of electronic music have surfaced, the theme of friendship and human connection has remained the same. After a quiet year since the previous release (which we also featured here) SLPL005 is almost ready and this time, Moises is at the helm.

The Canarian artist knows a thing or two about electronic music. Whilst heading up his own labels Downhill Music and MO-OB over in Spain, he has still found the time to put out some killer tracks through the likes of Einzelkind’s La Peña Records and previous Trommel favourite Dreams Are Not Inside. Add quality mixing to his repertoire and you’ve got the full shebang, making Moises a solid choice to join the Sleepless Musik family. His Circular EP might be his best yet.

A1. Circular

The title track is a dancefloor bomb, bursting with groove. You’ll find it aptly placed on the A side, along with a remix from Sakro. The deep, rolling bassline of Circular takes similar form to previous Moises releases, a fast pace dance between low and high notes. Eery breakdowns signalled by spiralling synths accentuate the mysterious melody that dominates the track, before rave like chords creep to the forefront. Then with a cheeky hi-hat flick, the bass is back. The energy emanating from this one is enough to have a crowd going wild at peak-time.

A2. Circular (Sakro Remix)

The remix is a little more subtle, yet equally as suited for late into the night. The percussion overtakes this one with a deeper bassline. It becomes clouded with minimalistic growling and an echoing vocal, injecting the dreary trip we’ve got quite used to hearing in Sakro’s productions.

B1. Homecoming

Flip the record over and the four-tracker becomes complete with two more of Moises’ own productions, both of which retain that signature groove. Homecoming pulsates repetitive rhythms laced with chattering patter and choppy voice. A sweet layer to house the jabbing synth that follows for another dance worthy beat.

B2. Inside Out

Inside Out completes the set, representing a different approach. This feel good finale ditches the darkness and is instead full of dreamy high notes and percussive swing, making it the uplifting one of the bunch. It’s fun, playful and full of life, perfect for celebrating those moments at the afters when the sun is up and so are the people.

There’s a while to wait for this one, with the release expected in May this year. But when you’ve got an EP that captures your attention from start to finish as this one does, you know it’s worth the wait.

More info on Moises

More info on Sleepless Musik

More info on Sakro
Facebook | Soundcloud

- Advertisement -